Become a Social Worker in Utah

Table of Contents

Disclaimer: Due to the rapidly changing nature of social work regulations, for the most up-to-date information on becoming a social worker in Utah, contact the Utah Social Work Licensing Board.

Disclaimer: Social Worker Salary information is taken from the Bureau of Labor Statistics

Utah law recognizes three classes of social workers: Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW), Certified Social Worker (CSW) and Social Service Worker (SSW). The requirements are as follows:

Sponsored Online Social Work Programs

Sponsored Online Social Work Programs
School Program Description
University of Denver
  • Research-driven faculty dedicated to making an impact on social problems
  • Prepares you to apply social work skills across practice settings
Fordham University
  • Four areas of focus: Individuals and Families, Organizations and Community, Evaluation, and Policy Practice and Advocacy
Simmons University
  • Four Clinical Specializations: Child and Family, Trauma and Interpersonal Violence, Mental Health and Addictions, and Health and Aging
  • Three program tracks: Traditional, Accelerated, and Extended
Case Western Reserve University
  • From Case Western Reserve University’s top-10 ranked School of social work
  • Traditional and Advanced Standing tracks available
University of Southern California (USC)
  • Offered by USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work, a top-ranked graduate School by U.S. News and World Report
  • Features virtual and in-person field education in or near student’s own communities
Baylor University
  • Ethically integrates faith and social work practice
  • Specialize in clinical practice or community practice

Sponsored Online Social Work Programs

Utah LCSW

Utah LCSW Education Requirement: A master’s degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program

Utah LCSW Exam: Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Clinical Level Examination

Field Requirement: 4,000 hours of clinical social work and mental health therapy training over a two-year period (1,000 hours must be supervised practice in mental health therapy with no less than 100 hours of direct supervised practice)

Fee: $120 application fee, $260 ASWB examination fee

Additional Information: None

Endorsement: Available upon board approval

License Renewal: Renewal is required every two years. Requirements for renewal are the successful completion of 40 contact hours of continuing education, including 3 hours in ethics, and payment of a $93 fee.

Return to top

Utah CSW (Certified Social Worker)

Utah CSW Education Requirement: A master’s degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program

Utah CSW Exam: Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Master’s Level Examination

Field Requirement: None

Fee: $120 application fee, $230 ASWB examination fee

Additional Information: None

Endorsement: None

License Renewal: Renewal is required every two years. There are no continuing education requirements, but there is a $93 renewal fee.

Return to top

Utah SSW (Social Service Worker)

Utah SSW Education Requirement: A bachelor’s degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program; a master’s degree in social work, psychology, marriage and family therapy or professional counseling; completion of the first academic year of a master’s degree in social work from a CSWE-accredited program; or a bachelor’s degree in a field other than social work and completion of the requested field requirements

Utah SSW Exam: Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Bachelor’s Level Examination

Field Requirement: For applicants with a bachelor’s degree not in social work: 2,000 hours of supervised qualifying experience under the supervision of a mental health therapist and three semester hours in social welfare policy, human growth and development, and social work practice methods

Fee: $85 application fee, $230 ASWB examination fee

Additional Information: None

Endorsement: None

License Renewal: Renewal is required every two years. Requirements for renewal are the successful completed 40 hours of continuing education directly related to your professional practice, of which at least 3 hours must be in the area of professional ethics and responsibilities and 2 hours in suicide prevention, and payment of a $93 fee.

Return to top

In order to become a licensed social work practitioner in Utah, you will need to complete prerequisite coursework, examination requirements, and, in some cases, supervised work requirements. Also, certain levels of social work in Utah can only be reached after completing an on-campus or online master of social work program. We are committed to keeping updated information on Utah social work licensure policies available to you.

Disclaimer: There may be additional methods of certification that have not been covered here. Please contact your state social work licensing department for more information.

Utah Social Work Salary

Utah Social Work Salary
Utah Social Work Career Average Social Work Salary
Child, Family and School Social Workers $42,320
Healthcare Social Workers $58,590
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers $42,210
All Other Social Workers $49,800
Salary Increase from BSW to MSW +9000

Disclaimer: Social Worker Salary information is taken from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Information about social worker salaries in Utah is subject to change. Please confirm salary information with your state before applying for licensure or renewal. Last updated: 8/22/2018.

Utah Social Work Scholarships

The Utah Health Care Workforce Financial Assistance Program

Type: Loan Repayment

Amount: Up to $24,000

Description: This program was created to provide professional education loan repayment assistance to health care professionals who locate or continue to practice in underserved areas of Utah. A health care professional, along with the employment site, must apply to the Program at the same time. A health care professional cannot have practiced at an employment site for more than 24 months in order to be eligible for the Program. A minimum two-year service commitment at an employment site approved by the Department of Health is required by those individuals that are awarded educational loan repayment funding. Mental health therapists (clinical psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, licensed professional counselor and/or marriage and family therapist) are available for funding up to $24,000.00 in a two year contract.

Additional scholarship information is available on the national page of social work scholarships.

Return to top

Sponsored Online Social Work Programs

Sponsored Online Social Work Programs
School Program Description
University of Denver
  • Research-driven faculty dedicated to making an impact on social problems
  • Prepares you to apply social work skills across practice settings
Fordham University
  • Four areas of focus: Individuals and Families, Organizations and Community, Evaluation, and Policy Practice and Advocacy
Simmons University
  • Four Clinical Specializations: Child and Family, Trauma and Interpersonal Violence, Mental Health and Addictions, and Health and Aging
  • Three program tracks: Traditional, Accelerated, and Extended
Case Western Reserve University
  • From Case Western Reserve University’s top-10 ranked School of social work
  • Traditional and Advanced Standing tracks available
University of Southern California (USC)
  • Offered by USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work, a top-ranked graduate School by U.S. News and World Report
  • Features virtual and in-person field education in or near student’s own communities
Baylor University
  • Ethically integrates faith and social work practice
  • Specialize in clinical practice or community practice

Sponsored Online Social Work Programs

Licensure information including requirements, renewals, and fees were retrieved as of August 2018. Information may have changed since, check with the state’s board of licensing for more information.