1. Earn a bachelor’s degree in social work or related field.
If you are planning to apply for a bachelor-level social work license, a Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) is required. However, for Master of Social Work (MSW) level licenses, a bachelor degree that will admit you to a MSW program will be sufficient. Check with your ideal MSW program’s requirements.
2. Complete a CSWE-accredited MSW program.
For two of the three social work licenses in Texas, a master’s degree in social work from a CSWE accredited program is required.
3. Complete field experience requirements.
For either your BSW or MSW program, you will likely complete field experience hours as a part of your required curriculum. In addition, licensure as a licensed clinical social worker (LCSW) or licensed master social worker – advanced practice (LMSW-AP) in Texas requires 3,000 hours of clinical experience between two and four years with 100 hours of supervision.
4. Take the Texas Jurisprudence Exam
You must pass the Texas Social Work Jurisprudence exam regarding the laws, regulations and ethical considerations for the profession. This is a no-fail exam, which means you must answer each question correctly before you can move on to the next. There is no time limit, but it takes about two hours to complete. It costs $39 as of 2020. Once you pass this exam, you can move forward with the next step of applying for the state license exam.
5. Apply for the Social Worker License Exam
You must apply with the Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners to take the licensing exam administered by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB). Permission to test is determined by the Texas State Board of Social Work Examiners post-application. The type of ASWB examination you will be required to pass is determined by the level of license you apply and qualify for.
Learn more on how to become a social worker.