Become a Social Worker in Nebraska

Table of Contents

Disclaimer: Due to the rapidly changing nature of social work regulations, for the most up-to-date information on becoming a social worker in Nebraska, contact the Nebraska Social Work Licensing Board.

Nebraska law recognizes two classes of social workers: Certified Master Social Worker (CMSW) and Certified Social Worker (CSW). The requirements are as follows:

Nebraska CMSW (Certified Master Social Worker)

Nebraska CMSW Education Requirement: Master of Social Work (MSW) or doctorate degree in social work from a CSWE-approved school

Nebraska CMSW Exam: A score of 75 or higher on the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Advanced Generalist or Clinical Level Examination

Field Requirement: 3,000 hours of supervised post-degree practice under the supervision of a certified master social worker

Fee: $25 certificate fee, $50 license fee, $260 ASWB examination fee

Additional Information: None

Endorsement: Available upon board approval

License Renewal: Licenses renew on September 1st of every even numbered year. Social workers must complete 32 hours of continuing education to renew their licenses, including two hours of mental health practice ethics and a $50 renewal fee.

Return to top

Nebraska CSW (Certified Social Worker)

Nebraska CSW Education Requirement: Baccalaureate degree or Master of Social Work (MSW) from a CSWE-approved school 

Nebraska CSW Exam: None

Field Requirement: None

Fee: $25 certificate fee, $125 license fee

Additional Information: None

Endorsement: Available upon board approval

License Renewal: Licenses renew on September 1st of every even numbered year. Social workers must complete 32 hours of continuing education to renew their licenses, including two hours of mental health practice ethics. There is a $125 renewal fee.

Return to top

In order to become a licensed social work practitioner in Nebraska, you will need to complete prerequisite coursework, examination requirements, and, in some cases, supervised work requirements. Also, certain levels of social work in Nebraska can only be reached after completing an on-campus or online master of social work program. We are committed to keeping updated information on Nebraska social work licensure policies available to you.

Disclaimer: There may be additional methods of certification that have not been covered here. Please contact your state social work licensing department for more information. Last updated 09/01/2018.

Nebraska Social Work Salary

Nebraska Social Work Salary
Nebraska Social Work Career Average Social Worker Salary
Child, Family and School Social Workers $42,030
Healthcare Social Workers $47,200
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers $39,640
All Other Social Workers $62,070
Salary Increase from BSW to MSW +$9,000

Disclaimer: Social Worker Salary information is taken from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Information about social worker salaries in Louisiana is subject to change. Please confirm salary information with your state before applying for licensure or renewal. Last updated: 8/22/2018.

Nebraska Social Work Scholarships

Nebraska Loan Repayment Program

Type: Loan Repayment

Amount: Up to $15,000 per year

Description: The Nebraska Loan Repayment Program requires a two year practice obligation in a state-designated shortage area.

Additional scholarship information is available on the national page of social work scholarships.

Return to top

Licensure information including requirements, renewals, and fees were retrieved as of August 2018. Information may have changed since, check with the state’s board of licensing for more information.