Become a Social Worker in Delaware

Table of Contents

Disclaimer: Due to the rapidly changing nature of social work regulations, for the most up-to-date information on becoming a social worker in Delaware, contact the Delaware Social Work Licensing Board.

Delaware law recognizes one class of social workers: Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW). The requirements are as follows:

Delaware LCSW

Delaware LCSW Education Requirement: Master of Social Work (MSW) from an accredited school of social work

Delaware LCSW Exam: Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Clinical Level Examination

Field Requirement: At least 3,200 hours of clinical experience, including 1,600 hours of board-approved supervised practice

Fee: $183 application fee, $260 ASWB examination fee

Additional Information: Criminal history check required

Endorsement: Available upon board approval

License Renewal: Clinical social work examiners licenses expire on January 31 of odd-numbered years. Requirements for renewal are the successful completion of 45 contact hours (prorated) of continuing education during each biennial license period and payment of a prorated renewal fee (you will be notified of the fee amount at the time of renewal); renewal fee is determined case by case according to the Delaware’s Division of Professional Regulation; $40 renewal fee payment for inactive licenses.

Return to Top

In order to become a licensed social work practitioner in Delaware, you will need to complete prerequisite coursework, examination requirements, and, in some cases, supervised work requirements. Also, certain levels of social work in Delaware can only be reached after completing an on-campus or online MSW program. We are committed to keeping updated information on Delaware social work licensure policies available to you.

Disclaimer: There may be additional methods of certification that have not been covered here. Please contact your state social work licensing department for more information. Last updated 05/11/2016.

Delaware Social Work Salary

Delaware Social Work Salary
Delaware Social Work Career Average Social Worker Salary
Child, Family and School Social Workers $39,870
Healthcare Social Workers $55,560
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers $53,020
All other Social Workers $60,570
Salary Increase from BSW to MSW +$9,000

Disclaimer: Social Worker Salary information is taken from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Information about social worker salaries in Delaware is subject to change. Please confirm salary information with your state before applying for licensure or renewal. Last updated: 08/22/2018.

Delaware Social Work Scholarships

The Delaware State Loan Repayment Program (SLRP)

Type: Loan Repayment

Amount: Varies

Description: The Loan Repayment Program is funded through a combination of state and federal funds. Mid-level practitioners may be granted up to $35,000 total for a two-year commitment or $52,000 maximum for a three-year contract. Advanced-degree practitioners may be granted up to $70,000 for a two-year contract.

Scholarship Incentive Program (ScIP)

Type: Scholarship

Amount: Up to $1,000 per year

Description: Candidates must be enrolled full time at a nonprofit, regionally accredited college in an undergraduate or graduate degree program that is not offered at the University of Delaware, Delaware State University, or Delaware Technical & Community College.

Additional scholarship information is available on the national page of social work scholarships.

Return to top

Licensure information including requirements, renewals, and fees were retrieved as of August 2018. Information may have changed since, check with the state’s board of licensing for more information.